Selected Publications

Katz Z.B., Novotná L., Blount A., Lillemeier B.F. (2017). A cycle of kinase activation and release at the T-cell receptor amplifies and disperses antigenic stimuli. Nature Immunology. Jan;18(1):86-95.

Hu Y.S., Cang H., Lillemeier B.F. (2016). Superresolution imaging reveals nanometer- and micrometer-scale spatial distributions of T-cell receptors in lymph nodes. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. Jun 28;113(26):7201-6.

Maity P.C., Blount A., Jumaa H., Ronneberger O., Lillemeier B.F., Reth M. (2015). B cell antigen receptors of the IgM and IgD classes are clustered in different protein islands that are altered during B cell activation. Science Signaling. Sep 15;8(394).

Christian Klammt, Lucie Novotná, Dongyang T. Li, Miriam Wolf, Amy Blount, Kai Zhang, Jonathan R. Fitchett and Björn F. Lillemeier. (2015). T cell receptor dwell-times control the kinase activity of ZAP-70. Nature Immunology. doi:10.1038/ni.3231

Heimbucher T, Liu Z, Bossard C, McCloskey R, Carrano AC, Riedel CG, Tanasa B, Klammt C, Fonslow BR, Riera CE, Lillemeier BF, Kemphues K, Yates JR 3rd, O’Shea C, Hunter T, Dillin A. (2015). The Deubiquitylase MATH-33 Controls DAF-16 Stability and Function in Metabolism and Longevity. Cell Metab. 22(1):151-63.

Roh KH, Lillemeier BF, Wang F, Davis MM. (2015) The coreceptor CD4 is expressed in distinct nanoclusters and does not colocalize with T-cell receptor and active protein tyrosine kinase p56lck. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. 112(13): E1604-13.

Klammt C., Lillemeier B.F. (2012). How membrane structures control T cell signaling. Frontiers in Immunology. 3: 291

Kasuboski J.M., Sigal Y.J., Joens M.S., Lillemeier B.F., and Fitzpatrick J.A.J. (2012). Superresolution microscopy: A comparative treatment. Current Protocols in Cytometry. 2.17.1–2.17.24.

Fitzpatrick J.A., Lillemeier B.F. (2011). Fluorescence correlation spectroscopy: linking molecular dynamics to biological function in vitro and in situCurrent Opinion in Structural Biology. 21(5):650-60

Lillemeier B.F. and Davis M.M. (2011). Probing the plasma membrane structure of immune cells through the analysis of membrane sheets by electron microscopy. Methods in Molecular Biology. 748:169-82.

Kuhns M.S., Girvin A.T., Klein L.O., Chen R., Jensen K.D., Newell E.W., Huppa J.B., Lillemeier B.F., Huse M., Chien Y.H., Garcia K.C., Davis M.M. (2010). Evidence for a functional sidedness to the alpha-beta-TCR. Proceedings National Academy of Sciences USA 107 (11):5094-9.

Huppa J.B., Axmann M., Mörtelmaier M.A., Lillemeier B.F., Newell E.W., Brameshuber M., Klein L.O., Schütz G.J., Davis M.M. (2010). Measuring the affinity and kinetics of T cell receptor binding in situNature. 463 pp.963-967.

Lillemeier B.F., Mörtelmaier M.A., Forstner M.B., Huppa J.B., Groves J.T., Davis M.M. (2010). TCR and LAT are expressed on separate protein islands onT cell membranes and concatenate during activation. Nature Immunology. 11(1):90-96

Davis M.M., Krogsgaard M., Huse M., Huppa J., Lillemeier B.F., Li Q.J. (2007). T cells as a self-referential, sensory organ. Annual Review of Immunology. 25:681-95

Lillemeier B.F., Pfeiffer J.R., Surviladze Z., Wilson B.S., Davis M.M. (2006). Plasma membrane-associated proteins are clustered into islands attached to the cytoskeleton. Proceedings National Academy of Sciences USA. 103(50):18992-7

Huse M., Lillemeier B.F., Kuhns M.S., Chen D.S., Davis M.M. (2006). T cells use two directionally distinct pathways for cytokine secretion. Nature Immunology. 7(3):247-55.

Kerr I.M., Costa-Pereira A.P., Lillemeier B.F., Strobl B. (2003). Of JAKs, STATs, blind watchmakers, jeeps and trains. FEBS Letters. 546(1):1-5

Hilkens CM, Is’harc H, Lillemeier BF, Strobl B, Bates PA, Behrmann I, Kerr IM. (2001). A region encompassing the FERM domain of Jak1 is necessary for binding to the cytokine receptor gp130. FEBS Letters. Sep 7;505(1):87-91.

Lillemeier B.F., Köster M., Kerr I.M. (2001). STAT1 from the cell membrane to the DNA. EMBO Journal. 20(10):2508-17

van Ham M., van Lith M., Lillemeier B.F., Tjin E., Gruneberg U., Rahman D., Pastoors L., van Meijgaarden K., Roucard C., Trowsdale J., Ottenhoff T., Pappin D., Neefjes J. (2000). Modulation of the major histocompatibility complex class II-associated peptide repertoire by human histocompatibility leukocyte antigen (HLA)-DO. Journal of Experimental Medicine. 191(7):1127-36